It Begins

Today the official video announcing President Obama’s 2012 election bid was released.  The Air “Lite” cover band with the gently synthetic music, the idyllic farmland, the church, the porch, the flag. It’s all so…”American”. And I mean that as an insult. American in the put-on-a -happy-face, multicultural facade for some real scary shit sort of way.

Who is Obama reaching out to here? I think a President should be everyman’s man, so I’m not saying I’m jealous that I don’t see myself in this video. All I’m saying is, it begins with them? It begins with this?

Full of sentimentality, smiling faces, and completely void of substance. Election season has officially begun.

~ by Vy on April 4, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
